Night wanderers

Leave a comment

June 8, 2016 by moocowvindaloocow

It all started with a poo in a flowerbed.

Rosie and Titania are as close as sisters – closer, in fact. While Rosie is shy, red-faced and passive, Ti is big, tough and daring. They shouldn’t be friends, but they are.
Creeping out at night, the girls love to secretly wander through their coastal town, exploring empty streets and sharing their frustrations about school and their different, but equally difficult, families.
But when Rosie betrays Ti, the two girls run in different directions – making decisions that could do irreparable damage to both of their lives. As Rosie confronts harsh truths, she must find a way back to Ti, and to herself.

I found night wanderers a gripping read about strong relationships and trust. It is not usually the sort of book that I would read but thoroughly enjoyed it and even encouraged my friend to read ‘infinite sky’, CJ flood’s other book.

It was quite a deep book but had some funny, light-hearted elements to it and, though the characters were older, I felt like I could relate to them well as if I was part of the story. I was cringing at some parts of it, like when Rosie, my favourite character, assumes things that she shouldn’t!

I would give this book four out of five because it had twists but wasn’t too cheesy and very realistic, which brought to light the fact that these things could happen to anyone. I would recommend this to a friend who enjoys quite funny books but would like to move on to something more grown up. I would also encourage fans of David Almond to read this as an addition to thier emotional reads.

Simon and Schuster have sent me a copy of this book in return for an honest review. This does not effect my opinion of this book.

Leave a Reply

